All PostsCurrent Affairs August

Current Affairs Quiz –27 27th August, 2017

  1. Banks to pay 3% IGST on gold imports
  • Banks importing gold and precious metals will have to pay 3 per cent tax under the GST which can be claimed as input tax credit.
  • Banks did not pay any VAT on import of precious metals previously. They only paid customs duty.
  • It also said banks would be liable to pay IGST on such imports and not any overseas supplier in which ownership is vested during movement of gold or silver.
  • Import of gold attracts a 10 per cent basic customs duty. On top of that a 12.5 per cent countervailing duty (CVD) was levied prior to GST.
  • Since GST subsumed CVD, hence the GST rate on gold at 3 per cent has to be paid at the time of imports in the form of IGST with effect from July 1.
  1. Biju Patnaik Award for scientific excellence announced
  • Orissa Bigyan Academy (OBA), the three-decade-old premiere forum of Orissa’s scientists, has announced its annual awards for the years 2008 and 2009.
  • Biju Patnaik Award for scientific excellence – the first of its kind instituted by the State Government’s Department of Science and Technology – would go to Kulamani Parida and Rajanikanta Choudhury for both the years respectively.
  • The award comprises a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh, a citation, a memento, a certificate, a shawl and a silver medallion.
  • Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award – named after the legendary astronomer of Orissa and presented for outstanding research contribution in science and technology during the five years preceding the year of award – have gone to Tapan Kumar Adhya (life sciences), Prafulla Kumar Sahoo (physical sciences) and Rabindra Kishore Mishra (engineering and technology) for the year 2008. Manamohan Parida shall be the recipient of the award in the category of “scientists working outside the State”.
  • Similarly, for the year 2009, Rabindra Nath Padhi (life sciences), Arun Kumar Pati (physical sciences), Mohmmed Khalid Khan (engineering and technology) and Debi Prasad Mishra (Oriya scientist working outside the State) shall be the awardees.
  • Oriya Young Scientists Awards – each carrying a cash award of Rs.10,000 in addition to a certificate and a citation – have gone to Sreerup Goswami (physical science) and Sachidananda Dehury (engineering and technology) for the year 2008 while for the year 2009, the awardees have been Mamata Mohapatra and Sandhyarani Biswas in the two categories respectively. Pranakrushna Parija popular science writers’ awards have been bagged by Murari Mohan Das and Manaswini Das for the year 2009.
  • As part of OBA’s tradition of offering felicitation to senior scientists every year, Rebati Charan Das and Swadhinananda Patnaik shall be honoured for the year 2008 while Priyambada Hejmadi, Renupada Nayak and Dwijesh Kumar Panda shall be honoured for the year 2009.
  1. HDFC Bank launches all-in-one DigiPoS machines
  • HDFC bank the largest merchant payment acquirer with over 40 per cent market share, today launched an all-in-one offering, DigiPoS Machine, that offers a complete suite of digital payment solutions.
  • With DigiPoS, a merchant can use as many as 12 various digital payment options like UPI, Bharat QR, SMS Pay, PayZapp, Tap & Pay, EMIs in addition to pay through debit/ credit card swiping,
  • DigiPoS integrates all popular digital payment methods in merchant payment machines offering greater convenience to both customers and merchants.

  1. Dharmendra Kumar appointed Director General of RPF
  • CISF ADG Dharmendra Kumar has been appointed as Director General of the Railway Protection Force.
  • Kumar, is a 1984 batch IPS officer of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram-Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre.
  • Before being appointed Additional Director General (ADG), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF, Kumar was serving as Special Commissioner (Special Unit) in the Delhi Police.
  • After the retirement of S K Bhagat in June this year, the additional charge of DG, RPF, was being handled by National Security Guard (NSG) DG, Sudhir Pratap Singh.
  • Kumar will retire on September 30, 2018.
  1. Lionel Messi becomes the first player to score 350 La Liga goals
  • Messi became the first player in La Liga history to reach the 350 goal mark.
  • Messi has been La Liga’s all-time leading scorer for a few years now — the previous record was held by Telmo Zarra, with 251 career goals.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Language translator»